Skip To Main Content

Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative

Empowering students to access their futures.

The Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative (FHSEC) serves 38 schools across 7 school districts in east central Kansas.

Participating School Districts

  • USD 251 – North Lyon County
  • USD 252 – South Lyon County
  • USD 253 – Emporia
  • USD 284 – Chase County
  • USD 386 – Madison
  • USD 390 – Hamilton
  • USD 417 – Morris County

Flint Hills Special Education Cooperative provides an array of services for students from birth through 21 years of age. The majority of the students are served in inclusive settings in their neighborhood schools.


Tara Glades

Director of Student Services

Phone: 620-341-2225
Fax: 620-341-2331

Mary Herbert Education Center
1700 W 7th Ave.
PO Box 1008
Emporia, KS 66801


7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Monday through Friday

Summer Hours

8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.
Monday through Thursday

Closed Fridays in June and July

Resources for FHSEC Staff

Member School Districts & Coordinators

North Lyon County USD 251

Angie Davis-Becker

Angie Davis-Becker

Chase County USD 284

Ben Faunce

Ben Faunce

Southern Lyon County USD 252

Kacie Johnson

Kacie Johnson

Madison-Virgil USD 386 & Hamilton USD 390

Lisa Temeyer

Lisa Temeyer

Emporia USD 253

Stacey Schade

Stacey Schade

Morris County USD 417

JB Gee