Second Emporia Teacher Nominated for State Award

Dec 16, 2015 | District News Release

Second Emporia Teacher Nominated for State Award

A second Emporia teacher learned today she is the district’s nominee for Kansas Teacher of the Year.

Ashlie Thomas, a language arts teacher at Emporia High School, will be one of two teachers representing the district in the state award program. Janine Dorr, a special education teacher at Emporia Middle School, also will be a candidate.

The announcement was made before school today during a faculty meetings at EHS.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year Program recognizes teachers who serve as leaders in the profession across the state. Nominees are full-time classroom teachers who have completed at least five years in the classroom. Each district may nominate two teachers, one from the elementary (K-8) level and one from the secondary level.

Thomas has been a language arts teacher at EHS since 2005; in 2008 she was named the department chair. She also teaches college-level composition at Flint Hills Technical College. She started her teaching career in 2001 after attending college in California. She is currently working on a master’s degree. She taught high school language arts for four years in California before coming to Emporia.

She summarizes her philosophy of teaching with a sign on her classroom door that reads, “When you enter this classroom, you are composers. Your are scholars. You are readers. You are authors. You are analysts. You are important. You are critics. You are the future. You are preparing for happiness. You are my reason for being here.”

She writes, “Only through communication and rapport, through trust and genuine mutual respect, can a classroom be wholly successful.”

She continues, “Ultimately, my purpose here is the students’ long-term happiness. While that long-term happiness may require short-term set-backs, rejections, or do-overs, it is always with that goal of happiness in mind. When the work is hard, the sea boils with fury, the clouds gather overhead, and the students fail to see the point in continuing their journey, I remind them of the African proverb: ‘Smooth seas do not make skillful sailors’.”

Teachers nominated for KTOY awards become part of a team of teachers who represent excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state.  Its mission is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance, and the teaching profession.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year Award is sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education. Regional semifinalists will be announced in each of the four Congressional districts next fall. The 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year will be named in November 2016.

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest