Four Emporia Schools Receive Challenge Awards

Feb 3, 2016 | District News Release

Based on results of 2015 Kansas State Assessments

The Confidence in Kansas Public Education Task Force has named 99 schools in 34 Kansas public school districts, including four Emporia schools, as recipients of the 2015 Challenge Awards.

The awards recognize Kansas schools that are making a notable difference in student achievement despite facing significant challenges in their school population. Since its inception in 2002, nearly 1,400 awards have been presented to schools across the state.

Emporia schools receiving awards are:

  • Logan Avenue Elementary for third grade math and fourth grade reading;
  • Riverside Elementary for fourth grade math;
  • W.A. White Elementary for fifth grade reading;
  • Emporia Middle School for eighth grade reading.

Certificates of Merit will be presented to the Emporia schools Thursday morning by Kansas State Board of Education members Kenneth Willard, Hutchinson.

Charles Volland, chairman of the Confidence in Kansas Publication Education Task Force, said,  “This award demonstrates that your school believes all children can learn, expects them to do so and gives them an opportunity to demonstrate their abilities.”

The Challenge Award recognizes schools for outstanding achievement and uncommon accomplishments based on Kansas Assessment results, the sample size and the socio-economic status of those taking the test.

The Confidence in Public Education Task Force is a nonprofit corporation whose primary purpose is to strengthen confidence in Kansas public education and to increase awareness of the positive aspects of public education in the state. The Task Force was created in 1981.

Members of the Task Force include American Association of University Women; Kansas PTA; Kansas Association of School Boards; Kansas National Education Association; Kansas School Public Relations Association; Kansas State Board of Education; Kansas State High School Activities Association; Kansas Partners in Education; League of Women Voters – Kansas; and United School Administrators of Kansas.

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest