Emporia Preschool Teacher Nominated for State Award

Dec 13, 2016 | District News Release

Laura Evins is Kansas Teacher of the Year Nominee

Laura Evins, left, wlth Kristin Oberle, EMS art teacher and Emporia NEA officer

Laura Evins, left, wlth Kristin Oberle, EMS art teacher and Emporia NEA officer

Laura Evins, an early childhood special education teacher, has been selected as the Kansas Teacher of the Year elementary nominee for the Emporia schools.

Evins is a preschool teacher at Maynard Early Childhood Center, where she has taught 3 year olds since 2005. The announcement was made Monday during a faculty meeting at Maynard ECC.

Evins has a bachelor’s and a master’s degree from Emporia State University, and she has experience teaching children with autism, hearing impairments and deafness, visual impairment, Down Syndrome and a variety of other disabilities. She also has served in many leadership roles in the district and provided training at the district and state level.

Before joining the Emporia schools, she was a preschool teacher at the ESU Child Development Center from 2001-2005.

In her philosophy of teaching, she writes, “My philosophy of teaching involves a variety of experiences for my students.  I believe that every child can learn, just in different ways. 

“I enjoy providing the following experiences within my teaching and learning environment:  individualized instruction, learning through play, hands on learning, creating a joy for learning in my students, positive learning experiences, and early intervention.”

The Kansas Teacher of the Year Program recognizes teachers who serve as leaders in the profession across the state. Nominees are full-time classroom teachers who have completed at least five years in the classroom. Each district may nominate two teachers, one from the elementary (K-8) level and one from the secondary level. A second Emporia teacher at the secondary level will be nominated for  KTOY recognition later this month.

Teachers nominated for KTOY awards become part of a team of teachers who represent excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state.  Its mission is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance, and the teaching profession.

The Kansas Teacher of the Year Award is sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education. Regional semifinalists will be announced in each of the four Congressional districts next fall. The 2017 Kansas Teacher of the Year will be named in November 2017.

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest