EHS Teacher Named Emporia Master Teacher

Dec 21, 2016 | District News Release

Laura Schwinn is 2017 Emporia Master Teacher


2017 Emporia Master Teacher Laura Schwinn (right) with Kristin Oberle, EMS art teacher and past Emporia Master Teacher

Laura Schwinn, a journalism teacher at Emporia High School, has been selected as the 2017 Emporia Master Teacher, according to an announcement today at EHS. Kristin Oberle, EMS art teacher and a past Emporia Master Teacher, presented the award today during a faculty breakfast.

Schwinn, a graduate of Emporia High School, has been a member of the faculty since 2003. She has taught language arts and journalism, and in the past four  years her classes have shifted to a Career and Technical Education pathway focusing on 21st Century Media, video and photography. She also is the EHS Echo online newspaper adviser and the Re-Echo yearbook adviser.

The Emporia Master Teacher Award is presented each year by the Emporia NEA, and the honoree becomes the Emporia nominee for the Kansas Master Teacher Award.

Schwinn has a bachelor’s degree in education and an English as a Second Language endorsement from Kansas State University. She taught one year at Marysville Junior/Senior High School before returning to EHS to teach.

 In her philosophy of education, she writes, her goal is to provide students with tools for lifelong learning. “No longer do I look simply at the students in my classroom, but I look at the interconnectivity of all of those students’ classes as well as their interests and future plans.”

 “I am now more focused on preparing students to enter the next stage of their lives with 21st Century skills and the desire to continue learning and growing through their chosen field or career,” she said. “I want students to leave my classroom with skills they could use immediately in real world application.”

 Established in 1953, the Master Teacher Awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession well and who typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers. Candidates for the awards are typically nominated by local teacher associations and school faculties. Selection of seven award recipients is made by a committee in the spring.

Translate »

Pin It on Pinterest